Guess who’s doing all the talking?

Ornithologists and bird-watchers alike, will know the answer to this in a flash.

Here we have a couple of Pied Kingfishers, sitting alongside the banks of the River Chobe, Botswana.  For those of you less familiar with these cuties; the female has a single, broad breast band and the male has a double breast band – one broad as well as a lower, narrower one.  I can think of many couples, including myself and my husband, who are just like this!  Humans, animals, birds – you name it – we’re all the same!

I took this photo on slide-film using an old, now retired, Pentax P30T and my trusty Sigma zoom lens – mostly likely maxed out to a focal length of 300mm.  I think I was lucky to get a relatively clear shot of them, as I was, at the time, sitting in a tiny boat bobbing along on the river.  It basically resembled an oversized aluminium can that would have been no match for a hippo or crocodile..of which there were plenty!

I shall be very quiet on the blogging & commenting front over the next couple of weeks. In fact, you may think I’m being just plain rude, or that I’ve fallen off the map completely! That isn’t the case at all – I’m just heading off to the field for work. We were supposed to be going to the Seychelles, but that plan didn’t quite turn out as expected.

Chobe River, Botswana – July, 2004

