You’ll have to excuse me: I’m seasonally challenged at the moment.  I have just realised that I am experiencing a proper Summer season for the first time in over a year.  Last year it went a bit like this for me: Winter – Spring – Autumn – Winter – Spring – Autumn – Winter and now, finally, Summer.  I guess that’s what happens when you migrate between the North and South Hemispheres, a lot.  Seasons go missing.

I could postpone the posting of these photos, which would put them at the appropriate time of year, but I just can’t wait to be seasonally correct!

It is October – November (honest) and it is 1995.  Through work, I got the absolute pleasure of visiting Finland.  We were hunting for kimberlites – the host rocks for diamonds.  It involved walking through lots of fir tree plantations, getting rained on (a lot) and having to put up with a ridiculous number of black fly that would insist on trying to get up your nose – until I wised up and bought a head net.

It was a pretty unglamorous time, really.  We were each tied with 25m-long pieces of rope to a colleague, who would have been either in front of, or behind you, depending on who was operating the compass & gps and who was operating the magnetometer.  The purpose of which was to take geophysical readings across a grid, often hundreds of meters across.  All the while we were in full waterproofs, à la mode 1995 and dodgy camouflaged head nets.  Delightful.

Luckily for us, major compensation awaited us at the end of every day.  Our accommodation was found in the form of beautiful holiday chalets, more often than not, located on the edge of a pristine lake.

There are lots of lakes in Finland.

Basically, wherever there isn’t a tree plantation – there is a lake.  It’s just the way it is 🙂

They are absolutely beautiful and serene.  The evening light was, quite simply, magnificent.

